Tunnel route

Key facts

  • The total length of the three tunnels will be approximately 32.5km.
  • The depth of the tunnels range between 10m and 63m. Most of the tunnels will be approximately 30m deep.
  • The tunnel and shafts are below ground and should not require planning approval as we can carry out the work to build these under our permitted development rights.

Section 1: Wimbledon to New Cross

Length: 12km

Operational by: 2025

Section 2: New Cross to Hurst

Length: 18km

Operational by: 2026

Section 3: Hurst to Crayford

Length: 2.5km

Operational by: 2024